Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

eastwestroad
New Contributor

I don’t know what to do with myself

I don’t know what to do with myself!

Hi out there, This is my first time on a forum and I’m a bit unsure how to describe what I’m feeling, but here goes...   I live in a semi rural area... I have diagnosed Bipolar, GAD and SAD... I’m on quite high doses of medication and I’ve been mostly stabilised over the last 18 months.   The medication has totally changed my eating, drinking and sleeping routines.  I used to cook and enjoy a glass of wine with dinner... now I rarely drink, have a shake for dinner and I self isolate and am always in bed.   I have trouble with planning things like grocery shopping and cooking because I’m not hungry and I don’t find food enjoyable anymore so my family have taken over those tasks.  I don’t know if other people have this but I don’t know what to do with myself at home... i sort of feel lost within this space.   I was unable to work for many years and have just started back casually so I have a lot of time at home... I wander around and I tidy up but I just don’t know what to do with myself or I don’t know where to sit so I go back to my bedroom which has always been my safety zone.  I love my bedroom and I’m always in it but then I feel guilty... that this isn’t right and I should be out in the house with my family.  I worry about what they think of me always being in bed or asleep.  I feel like there’s something wrong with me and that no one else I know lives their life like I do.  I don’t reach out and I don’t share this information with my friends because I know they wouldn’t understand and it makes me feel like there’s something